logo

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions


Here are answers to some of the most common questions about the Québec Manufacturing Fund.

The Québec Manufacturing Fund provides more than financial assistance. We give our partners an opportunity to benefit from our expertise and advisory services to boost performance and bottom line. The QMF team is made up of seasoned managers who have held leadership and executive positions with world-class companies operating in the manufacturing industry. Our goal is to work with your business’s management team to optimize your financial results and put you on track for long-term success.
2. What are the advantages of equity financing over debt financing?
Depending on the company’s financial situation, equity financing is often an excellent solution for many reasons (no additional debt accrued, no interest fees, no impact on financial results and ratios, etc.). What’s more, when we invest in a company’s capital, we are actually sharing in the financial risk, which gives us added incentive to work toward your prosperity. It’s our way of becoming a true “partner in your growth”!
3. How much does a company have to make in annual sales to be eligible for consideration?
As a rule of thumb, we invest in businesses that generate annual revenues of between $20 million and $200 million. But if your sales are shy of the $20-million mark, we may still consider your application if you show potential.
4. How much do you invest per transaction?
Our transactions generally range in size between $5 million and $15 million. But if you need more, we’re happy to look into the available possibilities. We have close ties with the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec and several other financial partners, which enables us to play an active role in projects as big as $100 million or more. Tell us what you need, and we will do our utmost to find a solution.
5. What is the investment horizon?
Most of our investments have a five- to ten-year term.
6. I’m a distributor. Can I apply for QMF financing?
No, we invest solely in manufacturing companies. To be eligible for our programs, your operations must comprise at least one manufacturing component (production, processing, addition, etc.).
7. What kind of influence would QMF exercise over the business?
You keep full control of your organization at all times. The Québec Manufacturing Fund is a minority shareholder. What’s more, you can buy back your interest at a later date. We do have some rules for you to follow, but under no circumstances will you lose control of your company. You are and will remain at the helm. We are there to act in a support capacity so you can take your performance to new heights.
8. How can the Québec Manufacturing Fund facilitate the transfer of my business to a new management team?
If you are passing the ownership torch to a family member or your current management team, we can provide the financing to ease the transition, along with support and coaching services to help prepare the new leadership. Click here to see how succession financing works.
9. Can I talk to some of the companies QMF has done business with and ask them about their experience?
Of course! We would be happy to put you in contact with one of our partners before we go ahead and finalize a deal. Write us at info@fondsmanufacturier.com or ask one of our associates to put you in touch.
10. How long does it take to put a partnership agreement deal together?
It is usually a matter of two to four months, depending on how much time the people involved have to spare and the volume of information required.
12. We are eyeing the possibility of acquiring another company. Can the Québec Manufacturing Fund help us with this?
Absolutely. We have concluded a number of acquisition deals and can provide financial support throughout the process. Click here for a concrete example.
©2017.Québec Manufacturing FundAll rights reserved

logo

FAQ

Foire aux questions


Vous trouverez ici les réponses aux questions qui sont posées le plus souvent sur les sujets suivants:

Le Fonds Manufacturier Québécois est plus qu’une aide financière. Nous offrons à nos partenaires notre expertise et une gamme de services-conseils afin d’accroitre votre profitabilité.

L’équipe du Fonds Manufacturier Québécois est composée de gestionnaires chevronnés qui ont occupé des postes de président, directeur général et vice-président exécutif pour des compagnies d’envergure internationale et ce, dans le secteur manufacturier. Notre but est d’accompagner la direction de la compagnie à optimiser ses résultats financiers.
2. Quel est l’avantage d’avoir un financement en équité plutôt qu’en dette ?
En fonction de la situation financière de compagnie, le financement en équité s’avère souvent un excellent outil pour plusieurs raisons (pas de dettes supplémentaires, pas de charges d’intérêts, on n’affecte pas les résultats financiers ni les ratios de la compagnie, etc.). De plus, en investissant en équité, nous prenons des risques financiers tout comme l’entrepreneur. On a tout comme vous à cœur de réussir et d’avoir du succès. Nous devenons votre partenaire d’affaires.
3. Quel est le chiffre d’affaires minimum pour avoir le droit d’être considéré ?
Nous investissons dans des compagnies qui génèrent  20 millions de ventes à 200 millions de ventes par année. Si votre entreprise est  sous la barre des $20 millions et que le potentiel est présent, nous allons la considérer!
4. Combien investissez-vous par transaction?
Le Fonds Manufacturier Québécois investit entre 5 et 15 millions par transaction. Si les besoins financiers s’avèrent plus élevés, aucun problème ! Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec la Caisse de dépôt et placements ainsi qu’avec plusieurs autres partenaires financiers. Nous sommes directement impliqués  dans des projets de plus de 100 millions de financement. Dites-nous vos besoins et nous trouverons des solutions.
5. Quelle est la période d’investissement?
En règle générale, les investissements ont une durée entre 5 et 10 ans.
6. Je suis un distributeur, ai-je droit au financement?
Non, nous investissons uniquement dans des entreprises manufacturières. Il doit y avoir eu ajout et/ou transformation du produit pour être éligible au financement.
7. Quel type de gouvernance le Fonds Manufacturier Québécois exerce-t-il une fois le financement donné?
Vous gardez pleine autonomie sur votre entreprise. Le Fonds Manufacturier Québécois est toujours un investisseur minoritaire. De plus, nous vous offrons l’opportunité de racheter notre position dans l’avenir. Nous avons quelques règles à respecter, mais en aucun cas vous ne perdrez le contrôle de votre compagnie. Vous êtes et resterez maître à bord de votre entreprise. Nous sommes là pour vous accompagner et vous aider à optimiser les résultats de la compagnie.
8. Comment le Fonds Manufacturier Québécois peut-il supporter ma relève?
Que la relève soit familiale ou assurée par la direction actuelle, nous offrons le financement pour assurer le changement d’actionnariat et nous offrons également l’accompagnement et le coaching de la relève afin d’assurer la transition d’entreprise avec succès. Voici un exemple de financement en situation de relève (fichier PDF ci-joint).
9. Puis-je avoir des références de compagnies ayant fait affaire avec le Fonds Manufacturier Québécois?
Certainement, c’est avec grand plaisir que vous pourrez contacter nos partenaires d’affaires avant de finaliser une entente. Veuillez nous contacter à info@fondsmanufacturier.com ou parlez directement à un de nos associés.
10. Combien ça prend de temps avant de finaliser une entente?
En règle générale, cela peut prendre entre 2 et 4 mois, dépendamment de la disponibilité des personnes impliquées et de l’information requise pour prendre une entente.
12. Nous sommes intéressés à faire une acquisition. Est-ce que le Fonds Manufacturier Québécois peut me supporter dans cette transaction?
Absolument, en plus d’avoir de l’expérience dans plusieurs transactions d’acquisition, le Fonds Manufacturier Québécois peut vous supporter financièrement et tout au cours du processus. Voir exemple PDF ci-joint.
©2017.Fonds Manufacturier QuébecoisTous droits résérvés